top of page

Buzzee Brown​


Buzzee Brown is a Halifax, Nova Scotia rock band with a history dating back to 1995. The band formed in that year as Butterside Down, with vocalist/guitarist Paul Hutt and bassist Norm White joining up with former Deep Woods members Don Macdonald and Rob Francis. The band played numerous shows around the province with self-released recordings sold at gigs and local shops. Over time, the line up and band name changed (also becoming Simon from 1997 to 2012) but regular gigs continued. Some of the songs in their current repertoire date back to ideas from that era. 



The current line up is Paul Hutt on vocals and guitar, Matt Holmes on bass and Iain Jardine on drums. Iain's artwork also features on the album with his wooden sculptures making appearances on stage during the band's shows. 


Gravel and Quills was recorded by Tim Feswick (Sons of Maxwell, Crash Test Dummies, Dave Carroll, among many other production credits) at Feswick Productions, Liverpool, NS. 2015, mastered by Noah Mintz (Arkells, Broken Social Scene) at Lacquer Channel mastering in Toronto, Ontario and manufactured by Microforum Vinyl Pressing in Toronto. Musical guests include Tim Feswick providing musical colour throughout, additional vocals from Christine Crawford and Brett Campaigne, slide guitar from John Campbelljohn, harmonica by Joe Veres with Mike Cowie providing trumpet.

_DSC3840 - Version 2_edited.png

Buzzee Brown is Paul Hutt, Iain Jardine, Norm White, Mark Organ and Matt Holmes. 

bottom of page